PRE-PREMIERE & REVIEW OF DIVERGENT

IMG_6959
On Friday I was lucky to get an invite to the Norwegian pre-premiere of the movie “Divergent”. This is a movie I’ve put on my “to watch” list long time ago. I have for once not read the books, it’s a series of three books (Divergent, Insurgent and Allegiant)  by Veronica Roth. This is the movie adaption for the first book and I really didn’t know what to expect. What I did expect was to see a movie similar to the Hunger Games (which has been both a favorite movie and book-series), but this is a whole different story and plot.

DIVERGENT_Trisfour-divergent-poster

The two main characters are by Shailene Woodley (Tris) and Theo James (Four). I don’t know if my readers remember miss Woodley from “The Secret Life of The American Teenager” and “the Descendants”, I never saw the last one, but she is told to be one of Hollywoods rising actresses, so this must be good (?). Theo James is not that known, other than the little role he had in “Downton Abbey” at least that’s where I’ve seen him before. Other than that the list of starring actress and actresses are pretty great; Kate Winslet, Ashley Judd, Mekhi Phifer, Tony Goldwyn and Zoë Kravitz to mentions some. So ok, enough said…

The movie takes us to a future Chicago, where we learn that the people have been divided in to five factions, each fractions have their own virtue which each faction thinks is the best. Dauntless are the brave ones, Erudite are the intelligent, Abnegation is the selfless ones, Amity is for the peaceful and Candor is for the honest. When each of the children turn 16 they get to choose a faction based on a aptitude test which tells them where they will fit in best. When someone is a little bit of all the five factions and can not be put into one of the groups, they are called “Divergent”. The movie shows the life of character Beatrice “Tris” Prior, a girl born into Abnegation but chooses Dauntless. We follow her journey into a new fraction and what it means to be Divergent.  I think I will stop myself here before I spoil the whole movie..which you obviously have to see now (right?) 😉

I really liked this movie a lot! The fighting scenes seemed believable, the characters development throughout the movie was great, it had a paste that you can relate to, it kind of makes sense. The male lead is hot. For me, it’s important that the author (if she/he still is alive) of the book is involved with the production of the movie. Where as on the credit list you will find Veronica Roth, and Hans Zimmer for the executive music score (that is some serious sh*t right there). I really recommend this movie.
IMG_6974  IMG_6978

Divergent premiers in Norwegian cinemas April 11th

2 thoughts on “PRE-PREMIERE & REVIEW OF DIVERGENT

Comment

